Immune Health

Supporting Your Immune Health With Florastor

11/10/2022

Immune Health

Immune health has become one of the most popular topics in the world of nutrition over the last several years.  

It probably won’t surprise you to hear me say that the health of one’s immune system is strongly connected both to the health of the rest of the body and especially to the quality and balance found in one’s dietary pattern.   

And why wouldn’t it be? 

Something of 70-80% of human immune cells are located in the gastrointestinal tract which offers insight into the fact that both fixtures of the digestive system (ie: your gut bacteria) and what passes through the system (food, fibre, nutrients) have massive potential to interact with immune health. 

In today’s post,we will take a closer look at how specific foods & nutrients may improve immune health with a special focus paid to the gut microbiome and its role in optimal immune functionality. 

With that said, let’s get right into it!  

Key Nutrients For Immune Health

Vitamin D

Vitamin D is a very unique nutrient because it’s found primarily in a relatively small group of foods including fish, eggs and some fortified milk/orange juice products. 

For reference, salmon is the commonly available food source that is highest per serving in Vitamin D. 

In many regions of the world (including Canada) our bodies cannot synthesize Vitamin D from the sun for large parts of the year, which also explains why Vitamin D supplements are among the most frequently purchased in the country. 

So why all the fuss? 

Well, Vitamin D has been increasingly considered vital to the optimal performance of the immune system, as demonstrating in 2017 systematic review out of the British Medical Journal (BMJ)1 demonstrating. 

Zinc 

Zinc is a mineral that has long been associated with the proper functioning of immune cells and the immune system, it’s also an interesting one from the dietary perspective because there are quite a few people out there who don’t consume enough zinc. 

The current state of scientific evidence suggests that zinc is absolutely essential for optimal immune functioning and that inadequate zinc intake, especially in the elderly, can compromise the immune response in a number of ways.²

For reference, foods highest in Zinc include; oatmeal, lentils, chickpeas, yogurt, oysters, chicken/beef, pumpkin seeds and tofu. 

Florastor For Immune Health 

It has become increasingly well established that a healthy gut microbiome plays an integral role in the development and maintenance of human immunity. 

In a 2019 paper on nutrition and immune health, Frontiers In Immunology identified probiotic supplements ( Vitamin D and Zinc were also discussed!) as one of the more impactful immune supporting lifestyle interventions.³ 

There are, of course, a wide array of probiotic species that exist and it so happens that Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745, found in Florastor, is among the most well studied for its immune supporting benefits, especially through its probiotic Florastor Plus. 

This particular probiotic strain is known to both directly bind to and interact with pathogenic bacteria and positively influence the human immune response on a cellular level by stimulating the release of specific compounds (such as immunoglobins), which in combination means that invasive bacteria are less likely to thrive.⁴

Accomplishing this both reduces the state of inflammation in the digestive tract and protects its sensitive lining.⁴

In addition to strengthening the immune system, Florastor PLUS also helps maintain healthy bones, hair, nails and/or skin. 

In the spirit of optimizing immune health, Florastor captures the immune supporting benefits of the Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 probiotic in conjunction with two nutrients discussed in today’s post which are often under consumed at population level. 

 

Andy De Santis RD MPH

@AndyTheRD

Système immunitaire

Renforcer votre système immunitaire avec Florastor

Pk Subban

Au cours des dernières années, la santé immunitaire est devenue l'un des sujets les plus populaires dans le monde de la nutrition.

Vous ne serez probablement pas surpris de m'entendre dire que la santé du système immunitaire est fortement liée à la santé du reste du corps et surtout à la qualité et à l'équilibre du régime alimentaire. 

Et pourquoi ne le serait-elle pas ?

Quelque 70 à 80 % des cellules immunitaires humaines sont situées dans le tractus gastro-intestinal, ce qui donne une idée du fait que les éléments du système digestif (c'est-à-dire les bactéries intestinales) et ce qui passe par le système (aliments, fibres, nutriments) ont un potentiel énorme d'interaction avec la santé immunitaire.

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous allons examiner de plus près comment certains aliments et nutriments peuvent améliorer la santé immunitaire, en mettant l'accent sur le microbiome intestinal et son rôle dans la fonctionnalité immunitaire optimale.

Cela étant dit, entrons dans le vif du sujet !

Les nutriments clés pour renforcer votre système immunitaire

La vitamine D

La vitamine D est un nutriment très particulier car on la trouve principalement dans un groupe relativement restreint d'aliments, dont le poisson, les œufs et certains produits laitiers ou jus d'orange enrichis.

À titre de référence, le saumon est la source alimentaire courante qui présente la plus forte teneur en vitamine D par portion.

Dans de nombreuses régions du monde (dont le Canada), notre corps ne peut pas synthétiser la vitamine D à partir du soleil pendant une grande partie de l'année, ce qui explique aussi pourquoi les suppléments de vitamine D sont parmi les plus fréquemment achetés dans le pays.

Alors pourquoi toute cette effervescence ?

Et bien, la vitamine D est de plus en plus considérée comme vitale pour la performance optimale du système immunitaire, comme démontré dans la revue systématique de 2017 publiée dans le British Medical Journal (BMJ)1

Zinc

Le zinc est un minéral associé depuis longtemps au bon fonctionnement des cellules immunitaires et du système immunitaire. Il est également intéressant du point de vue de l'alimentation, car un grand nombre de personnes ne consomment pas suffisamment de zinc.

L'état actuel des preuves scientifiques suggère que le zinc est absolument essentiel au fonctionnement optimal du système immunitaire et qu'un apport insuffisant en zinc, notamment chez les personnes âgées, peut compromettre la réponse immunitaire de plusieurs façons.²

À titre de référence, les aliments les plus riches en zinc sont les suivants : flocons d'avoine, lentilles, pois chiches, yaourt, huîtres, poulet/bœuf, graines de citrouille et tofu.

Florastor pour la bonne santé immunitaire

Il est de plus en plus établi qu'un microbiome intestinal sain joue un rôle essentiel dans le développement et le maintien de l'immunité humaine.

Dans un article de 2019 sur la nutrition et la santé immunitaire, Frontiers In Immunology a identifié les suppléments probiotiques (la vitamine D et le zinc ont également été abordés !) comme l'une des interventions les plus efficaces en matière de mode de vie pour soutenir le système immunitaire.³

Il existe, bien sûr, un large éventail d'espèces probiotiques et il se trouve que Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745, est parmi les plus étudiées pour ses bienfaits sur le système immunitaire, notamment à travers son probiotique Florastor Plus.

Cette souche probiotique particulière est connue pour se lier directement aux bactéries pathogènes et interagir avec elles, ainsi que pour influencer positivement la réponse immunitaire humaine au niveau cellulaire en stimulant la libération de composés spécifiques (comme les immunoglobines), ce qui signifie que les bactéries envahissantes sont moins susceptibles de se développer.⁴

Cela permet à la fois de réduire l'état d'inflammation du tube digestif et de protéger sa muqueuse sensible.⁴

Au-delà de renforcer le système immunitaire Florastor PLUS, aide également à maintenir la santé des os, des cheveux, des ongles et/ou de la peau.

Florastor associe les avantages du probiotique Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 aux deux nutriments (Vitamine D & Zinc) dont il est question dans l'article d'aujourd'hui et qui sont souvent sous-consommés au niveau de la population.