Kid's Health

How To Take Care Of Your Baby’s Gut Health With Probiotics

10/10/2022

Baby sleeping

Gut health, and the associated role of probiotics in maintaining it, has become one of the most important and well studied topics within the world of scientific inquiry.

This holds true not only for adults, but children as well.

Many parents are curious as to whether or not probiotics are suitable for their infants, but as we will explore today there are a number of contexts in which the use of specific probiotics is strongly supported.

Approximately 80% of human immune system cells are located in the digestive tract and the first 1,000 days of life play an important role both in the formation of the immune system and the establishment of a healthy balance in a child’s gut bacteria.

Imbalances in the gut microbiota, known as dysbiosis, can cause or contribute to a number of issues.

And that’s where probiotics, which may be either bacteria or yeast species, have a role to play.

In today’s article we explore the role of a specific yeast-based probiotic strain- Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® (also referred to as SB within), the core strain of Florastor probiotics, for the past 65 years.

Let’s get right into it.

How Does SB Maintain Gastrointestinal Health?

Before we get into the specific gut-related conditions SB can help your child address, let’s start by understanding what exactly Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® accomplishes within the human digestive tract.

Here are some highlights based on our most current scientific understanding¹:

  • Changes to digestive enzymes
  • Binding and removing of “bad” bacteria”
  • Creating an environment in the gut that favors growth of “good” bacteria
  • Protecting the delicate layers of the digestive tract
  • Direct influence on the immune response

But how do these effects translate to meaningful improvements to an infant’s digestive health?

Let’s take a closer look at some specific problems that SB has been demonstrated to help resolve.

Antibiotic Associated Diarrhea (AAD)

Antibiotic Associated Diarrhea, or AAD, is essentially diarrhea that arises during or after a course of antibiotic treatment in some children and adults as a result of the disruption to the gut microbiome that can occur through the use of these medications.

One of the most well studied features of Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® is that it reduces the incidence of AAD in children by 80%⁴.

Acute Diarrhea (AD)

Acute Diarrhea [AD] in children is most likely to occur as a result of a viral or bacterial infection.

A systematic review and meta-analysis conducted via the official journal of the American Society Of Pediatrics³ determined that SB has “Safe and has clear beneficial effects in children who have acute diarrhea.”

As per this review, children who utilized this probiotic had a shorter duration of diarrhea and less daily bowel movements during this period.

Another unpleasant consequence that can be associated with AD is vomiting and it has been demonstrated that Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® can reduce the duration of vomiting in infants with acute diarrhea as well4.

H. pylori Infection

Although there are many different types of viral and bacterial infections that can affect children, H. pylori generates additional interest due it its commonality and the fact it is a leading cause of gastritis (inflammation of the stomach lining).

Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® has been demonstrated to compliment the standard triple antibiotic eradication process of H.pylori both by enhancing its effectiveness and, of course, reducing AAD that can come with antibiotic use⁵.

Incorporating Florastor probiotics (SB) in your baby routine is easy

Florastor probiotics are made of 100% Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745®.

Vegetarian, gluten free and non-GMO, the Florastor Baby probiotics, can be easily incorporated in your baby food routine. As it can be mixed with formula, milk food and do not need any refrigeration.

Florastor Baby, treat diarrhea and reduce throw-ups, help strengthen babies digestive balance and supports a healthy immune system.

Florastor is the ONLY probiotic naturally resistant to ALL antibiotics.

Andy De Santis RD MPH

@AndyTheRD

References

1.     Clinical Medicine Insights: Gastroenterology Volume 11: 1–14 [2018]

2.     Dinleyici, E.C., Eren, M., Ozen, M., Yargic, Z.A., & Vandenplas, Y. (2012). Effectiveness and safety of Saccharomyces boulardii for acute infectious diarrhea. Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy, 12(4), 395-410.Pediatrics 2014- Vol 134 Efficacy and Safety of Saccharomyces boulardii for Acute Diarrhea

3.     Burande MA, Burande AR. Efficacy of Saccharomyces boulardii strain in acute diarrhoea in children : An Indian Perspective. International Journal of Recent Trends in Science And Technology. 2012;4(1):41-44.

4.     Bin Z, Ya-Zheng X, Zhao-Hui D, Bo C, Li-Rong J, Vandenplas Y. The Efficacy of Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 in Addition to Standard Helicobacter pylori Eradication Treatment in Children. Pediatr Gastroenterol Hepatol Nutr. 2015;18(1):17-22. doi:10.5223/pghn.2015.18.1.17

Santé des enfants

Comment prendre soin de la santé digestive de votre bébé avec des probiotiques

Baby sleeping

La santé intestinale et le rôle des probiotiques dans son maintien est devenu l'un des sujets les plus importants et les plus étudiés dans le monde.

Cela est vrai non seulement pour les adultes, mais aussi pour les enfants.

De nombreux parents souhaitent savoir si les probiotiques conviennent ou non à leurs bébés. Au cours de cette article, nous allons voir qu’il existe un certain nombre de situations dans lesquelles l'utilisation de probiotiques est fortement recommandée.

Environ 80 % des cellules du système immunitaire humain sont situées dans le tube digestif et les 1 000 premiers jours de la vie jouent un rôle important tant dans la formation du système immunitaire que dans l'établissement d'un système digestif sain.

Les déséquilibres du microbiote intestinal, connus sous le nom de dysbiose, peuvent causer ou contribuer à un certain nombre de problèmes.

Et c'est là que les probiotiques, qui peuvent être soit des bactéries, soit des souches de levures, ont un rôle à jouer.

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous explorons le rôle d'une souche probiotique spécifique à base de levure - Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® (également appelée SB), la souche unique des probiotiques Florastor, depuis 65 ans.

Entrons dans le vif du sujet.

Et c'est là que les probiotiques, qui peuvent être soit des bactéries, soit des souches de levures, ont un rôle à jouer.

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous explorons le rôle d'une souche probiotique spécifique à base de levure - Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® (également appelée SB), la souche unique des probiotiques Florastor, depuis 65 ans.

Entrons dans le vif du sujet.

Comment SB contribue-t-il à maintenir une bonne santé gastro-intestinale ?

Avant d'aborder les troubles digestifs pour lesquels SB peut aider votre enfant, commençons par comprendre ce que Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® accomplit exactement dans le tube digestif humain.

Voici quelques points essentiels basés sur nos connaissances scientifiques les plus récentes¹ :

  • Modification des enzymes digestives
  • Élimination des "mauvaises" bactéries".
  • Création d'un environnement dans l'intestin qui favorise la croissance des "bonnes" bactéries
  • Protection des couches délicates du tube digestif
  • Influence directe sur la défense immunitaire

Mais comment ces effets se répercutent-ils sur la santé digestive du nourrisson ?

Examinons de plus près les différents troubles digestifs pour lesquels SB a prouvé son efficacité.

Diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques (DAA)

La diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques, ou DAA, est essentiellement une diarrhée qui survient pendant ou après un traitement antibiotique chez certains enfants et adultes, en raison de la perturbation du microbiome intestinal qui peut survenir lors de la prise de ces médicaments.

L’impact de Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® sur la diarrhée associée aux antibiotiques a été grandement étudié. Il a été prouvé que SB réduit de 80 % l'incidence de la DAA chez les enfants².

Diarrhée aiguë (DA)

La diarrhée aiguë (DA) chez l'enfant est plus souvent due à une infection virale ou bactérienne.

Une revue systématique et une méta-analyse menées par le biais du journal officiel de l'American Society Of Pediatrics3 ont déterminé que SB est " sécuritaire et a des effets bénéfiques évidents chez les enfants qui ont une diarrhée aiguë ".

Selon cette revue, les enfants qui ont utilisé ce probiotique ont eu une durée de diarrhée plus courte et moins de selles quotidiennes pendant cette période.

Une autre conséquence désagréable qui peut être associée à la DA est le vomissement et il a été démontré que Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® peut également réduire la durée des vomissements chez les nourrissons atteints de diarrhée aiguë⁴.

Infection à H. pylori

Bien qu'il existe de nombreux types d'infections virales et bactériennes qui peuvent affecter les enfants, H. pylori suscite un intérêt particulier en raison de sa banalité et du fait qu'il s'agit d'une cause majeure de gastrite (inflammation de la paroi de l'estomac).

Il a été démontré que Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745® constitue un complément au processus standard d'éradication de H.pylori par les trois antibiotiques, à la fois en améliorant son efficacité et, bien sûr, en réduisant la DAA qui peut accompagner l'utilisation des antibiotiques⁵.

Il est facile d'incorporer les probiotiques Florastor (SB) dans la routine de votre bébé

Les probiotiques Florastor sont composés à 100 % de Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745®.

Végétariens sans gluten et sans OGM, les probiotiques Florastor Baby peuvent être facilement incorporés à la routine alimentaire de votre bébé.

Ils peuvent être mélangés à du lait en poudre ou à des aliments lactés et ne nécessitent aucune réfrigération.

Florastor Baby traite la diarrhée et réduit les vomissements, aide à renforcer l'équilibre digestif des bébés et favorise un système immunitaire sain.

Florastor est le SEUL probiotique naturellement résistant à TOUS les antibiotiques.

 Andy De Santis DR MSP

 @AndyTheRD

Références

1.     Clinical Medicine Insights: Gastroenterology Volume 11: 1–14 [2018]

2.     Dinleyici, E.C., Eren, M., Ozen, M., Yargic, Z.A., & Vandenplas, Y. (2012). Effectiveness and safety of Saccharomyces boulardii for acute infectious diarrhea. Expert Opinion on Biological Therapy, 12(4), 395-410.Pediatrics 2014- Vol 134 Efficacy and Safety of Saccharomyces boulardii for Acute Diarrhea

3.     Burande MA, Burande AR. Efficacy of Saccharomyces boulardii strain in acute diarrhoea in children : An Indian Perspective. International Journal of Recent Trends in Science And Technology. 2012;4(1):41-44.

4.     Bin Z, Ya-Zheng X, Zhao-Hui D, Bo C, Li-Rong J, Vandenplas Y. The Efficacy of Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 in Addition to Standard Helicobacter pylori Eradication Treatment in Children. Pediatr Gastroenterol Hepatol Nutr. 2015;18(1):17-22. doi:10.5223/pghn.2015.18.1.17